Coatesville area school district SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Coatesville Area Senior High School Auditorium JUNE 28, 2018 - 7:00 PM

OPENING ACTIVITIES

1. CALL TO ORDER AT 7:00 P.M.

2. <u>READING OF MISSION STATEMENT</u>

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to create innovative educational experiences which are funded by the taxpayers, supported by the community, delivered by dedicated teachers and administrators, to ensure all students will become responsible, contributing global citizens.

3. <u>ADVISEMENT</u>

By notice of the President, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes. The minutes should also note that public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. School Board meetings shall proceed in accordance with School Board policy.

4. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

Board of School Directors

- Dean A. Snyder, President present Ann M. Wuertz, Vice President - present Robert J. Fisher - present Bashera Grove - absent James Hills - present Thomas N. Keech - present Robert T. Marshall, Jr. - present Brandon J. Rhone - present Thomas Siedenbuehl - present
- (Finance Committee) (Operations & Policy Committees) (Education & Finance Committees) (Education Committee) (Finance & Operations Committees) (Education Committee) (Operations Committee) (Policy Committee) (Policy Committee)

Administration

Dr. Cathy Taschner, Superintendent of Schools - *present* Dr. Kimberly R. Donahue, Assistant to the Superintendent of Curriculum and Learning - *absent* Dr. Cynthia Ajemian, Director of Special Education - *absent* Jeffrey Ammerman, Director of Business Administration - *present* Karen Hall, Director of Human Resources and School Board Secretary - *present* Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary and Secondary Education - *absent* Rita Perez, Director of Pupil Services - *absent*

Student Representatives

Jared Elters, Senior Class Representative- *absent* Diamond Marrow, Junior Class Representative- *absent*

<u>Solicitor</u> Michael I. Levin, Esquire- absent

5. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND SALUTE TO THE FLAG

ADDITIONS, DELETIONS OR MODIFICATIONS TO THE AGENDA

PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

The Board has requested all persons making comments on **<u>agenda items</u>** to list their name, address, telephone number and motion item(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute limit per person. The Board does not take action or discuss items not appearing on the agenda. The Board values public comments and wishes to convey that although Board members cannot discuss items that are not on the agenda, they listen carefully and appreciate and value input from the public.

- Amber Little-Turner
- Mark DeYoung
- Elwood Dixon

MOTION ITEMS FOR APPROVAL

A. <u>General Fund Budget and Tax Resolution for 2018-2019</u>

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors approve the General Fund Budget and Tax Resolution, as presented, in the amount of \$176,450,469 for the 2018-19 Fiscal Year with a real estate tax rate of 36.7537 Mills of the assessed valuation, \$3.67537 per \$100 of assessed value, (an increase of 5.27%) and a Realty Transfer Tax of .5%; an Earned Income Tax of. .5%; and a Local Service Tax of \$5.00 (no change in those taxes).

Motion: Ann Wuertz Second: James Hills Vote: 5-3-0

B. <u>Homestead/Farmstead Resolution for 2018-2019</u>

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors approve the Homestead/Farmstead Property Tax Reduction amounts, as presented, in the amount of \$254.65 per Homestead/Farmstead with an assessed value exclusion of \$6,928 per Homestead/Farmstead.

Motion: Ann Wuertz Second: Robert Marshall Vote: 7-1-0

C. <u>Dell Computer Lease</u>

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors provide authority to the Director of Technology, in coordination with the solicitor, to enter into an agreement on behalf of the District with Dell Financial Services for the three-year lease of new computers in the amount of \$498,300 (which was the lowest quote).

Motion: Ann Wuertz Second: Robert Marshall Vote: 8-0-0

PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board has requested that all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

- Diane Brownfield
- Laurie Shannon-Bailey

School Board Meeting Minutes June 28, 2018 Page 3 of 3

ADDITIONAL BOARD MEMBERS' REPORTS

INFORMATION ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Robert Marshall

Second: Dean Snyder

Time: 8:00 P.M.

Notice of this public meeting was advertised in the Daily Local News on June 26, 2018 and on the District Website. Copies of the minutes will be maintained in the Office of the Board Secretary.